Question to multi MA students

charyuop

Black Belt
Reaction score
I can understand that people learn forms from differnt styles, but how do you use them?
What I mean is, I am studying Tai Chi and for example there are different ways to "receive" a punch. Many different ways that lead to different situations (some can lead to a broken arm, some lead to arm bars, some lead to pushing away the opponent, some to punch back....and so on).
When you have in your brain different styles how you behave when you get punched? Do you tend to use only one style? I don't see how you can have the time to pick which style to use, so I was wondering if you just use the same style in a fight, but you learn more.
(I hope I was clear enough in my question)...

Yes you where pretty clear for me, anyway I just re-act to what is being done at that particular moment, you really don;t have time to decide. That is why it is so important to contiually train those reflexis.

Clear enough

You cannot plan for a fight and depending on what is coming at you is how you respond.

I do not think, nor do you have time to think, hmm...which would work better here, Tai Chi or Xingyi...or maybe Sanda?

And even if you just base it on Tai Chi you could end up with the same dilemma. Should I use ward of or repulse monkey...or possibly white crane spreads its wings? You just do whatever comes natural at the time, that is why we train so much and people think we are martial arts crazy.

So basically what you telling me is that all the styles you train once get into you become only one whole fighting system?

I know learning a good base is a great start then you get the basics down when you start to branch out and study different styles you naturally gravitate towards what is more comfortable for me and what I do well which I hopefully have found out thru my basic style. I have incorporated things from different styles that fit my strengths and are refining those.