Man hits teacher's aide?

sgtmac_46

Senior Master
Reaction score
What to think of this, folks. Apparently a father, upset about an allegation by his daughter that a teacher's aide molested her, walks in to a classroom and punches him. I'll hold my opinion until I hear someone else's.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/11025202/

Sil Lum TigerLady said:
That man is my hero.

And if the allegation is false? Then what?

As a teacher, I have seen way too many children who have been abused - by parents, by siblings, by other relatives, by other adults such as babysittters. Abuse by a person in a position of trust is truly horrific - and I certainly cannot condemn any person for defending a child - but as bad as our justice system seems to be in many ways, and as many flaws as it shows, if everyone took justice into their own hands in this fashion, our society (such as it is) would rapidly break down into anarchy. Abuse of any person, but most especially a child, is a heinous crime - but committing a second crime to avenge the first does not make the second crime acceptable. In addition, regardless of the outcome of the abuse accusation, the child will now have to deal with her parent's potentially being jailed - and if she was truly abused, then she needs her father's support way more than she needs to know that she was avenged, and now he may not be able to be there for her.

Kacey said:
And if the allegation is false? Then what?