hygiene post training

maxhargrave14

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm from Melbourne Australia and I've been training mixed martial arts for about 2 years and am absolutely obsessed with the sport. However, over the duration of my training I have been the recipient to multiple staph infections and ringworm infections. I am strict about my hygiene making sure i shower straight after training although ive noticed for my skin at least, general soaps and gels struggle to battle against infections picked up on the mats and from other training partners.

This has made me interested in making my own soap to ensure cleanliness after training. I just wanted to see if you guys face similiar issues and what are your preferences of soaps to use post training whether that be what brand, gel or bars of soap. I am aware of soaps such as defense soap which has a good reputation for this type of thing.

Any comments about how you keep up your post training hygiene or if you have faced similar problems would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Do you use grappling shoes when you're on the mat? If you're getting multiple infections it sounds like your gym needs to be doing a better job cleaning on their end though.

Do you use grappling shoes when you're on the mat? If you're getting multiple infections it sounds like your gym needs to be doing a better job cleaning on their end though.
nah no grappling shoes, this was my old gym but yeah, I agree better hygiene on mats from the gyms end may be an issue as well. Do you just use generic soap from the grocery store after you train?

nah no grappling shoes, this was my old gym but yeah, I agree better hygiene on mats from the gyms end may be an issue as well. Do you just use generic soap from the grocery store after you train?
I do, and never had an issue. But I also use grappling shoes pretty frequently, and go to gyms where they clean the mats regularly.