Under Pressure

Gyakuto

Senior Master
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It seems the misfiring of a population of neurones may be the cause of ā€˜choking under pressureā€™.

As though we didnā€™t know, the likelihood of choking increased when the reward was deemed as more ā€˜valuableā€™. This appears to apply to both physical (sports) and cognitive (examinations) tasks.

Anecdotally, I find that if can disinhibit my expectations I perform much better. I couldnā€™t get the information in scientific papers to stick in my head when I was an undergraduate and it was really important, but during my PhD and as an academic I could casually read the literature and it did stay in my memory. When I attempted my fourth Dan grading, I wasnā€™t worried because I had three other possibilities to have a go at it, later in the year. Thus I was relaxed, did my thing and, to my surprise, passed first time! However, it can be a hard frame of mind to cultivate.

Original Source:

Thanks for posting!

This is extremely interesting, as it gives a neurcal level understanding to for example challenge and threat where hte peak cardiac output is is understood mainly at the vascular systeme regulation, cortisol and vasoconstriction. That there is always a sweet spot where you perform best is something I recognize too in many ways. So understaning deeper how it works is interesting.

I wasn't aware of this, the question is "why do the choke", will read the full paper carefully

As it's begind a paywall, a corresponding preprint copy is here

What the papers seems to conclude it that there exists what they call "adverse interactions between