Hi from Grass Valley, California *new member*

amishman

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Just stumbled across this forum. Great site!

I am 41 and have decided to get back into the martial arts after all these years. All I could think about when I was in junior high and high school was martial arts. Had to see every martial arts movie and had to read as much as I could back then. Enrolled in all sorts of classes and studied Karate at a local place in Livermore, California called Moore's Karate on Main Street. Also studied at another local place called Boma (Basic Oriental Martial Arts) and a private home group where I studied Kung Fu for a summer term. In college I kept busy with a basic Martial Arts class but that was the last of it. Got married in 1990 and really the last time I did anything martial arts other than watch movies <grin> was around 1988 when I graduated local junior college. So, I am now older and fatter with high cholesterol and it is time to get healthy again (hehehe). So, I have been getting excited reading the forums here and figuring out how I will start again.

Thinking about buying some DVDs and then maybe save some $$ and join a local class for making new friends and learning hands-on. Until then, I am looking at either getting the Jerry Poteet Jeet Kun Do DVDs or maybe the Stephen K Hayes ToShinDo DVDs. Start practicing at home with the basics just to start losing some weight, working out, sweating, strecthing, and maybe I can do the splits again one day. hehehe