Grandson and me?

opr1945

Purple Belt
Reaction score
So I have an 11 year old grandson studying Tae Kwan do in a city about 1 hour away. Today another grandson expressed interest in Martial Arts, and he lives 1 mile from me. I am studying Uechi Ryu for a few months now. I chose this style as I am within spitting distance of 80 years old. The style taught at the Dojo I attend does not seem to include spinning kicks, high kicks, getting tossed to the ground or grappling. I am not very flexable, am fragile and am lacking in endourance. That is why I choose where I am.

I plan on visiting several styles of Martial Arts with my grandson. He has expressed a desire have us study at the same dojo at the same time. He has expressed an interest in BJJ, which I think my not be best for mat becuse my limitations mentioned above.

1. Is it advisable for us to do it together?
2. Am I likely to get injured if I switch to BJJ to be with him (if that is what he wants to do) (as I am fragile)?

Thanks.

I am studying Uechi Ryu for a few months now. I chose this style as I am within spitting distance of 80 years old. The style taught at the Dojo I attend does not seem to include spinning kicks, high kicks, getting tossed to the ground or grappling. I am not very flexable, am fragile and am lacking in endourance. That is why I choose where I am.

I plan on visiting several styles of Martial Arts with my grandson. He has expressed a desire have us study at the same dojo at the same time.